Tags

,

Meet Namreen from the Life and Times of the Fireflies blog, here you will discover everything about her life, what her interests are and what makes her happy. Read what Namreen has to say:

Namreen

What made you decide to blog?

It was a combination of a passion for writing and some gentle persuasion from my sisters. I was always a closet writer…but my sisters gave me the courage to share it with the world.

Describe your blog?

My blog is often deep and insightful. It explores my relationship with my family and highlights life lessons as I learn them. Sometimes I touch on beauty, food and fashion…but mostly it is a message for my children, in the hopes that they would one day stumble upon it and by chance take the time to read. Hopefully, through this online time capsule, I will still be able to impart my wisdoms to them even after I am long gone.

What is your inspiration in life, style, work, hobbies?

Hmmm…difficult question. I don’t work. I’m a stay at home mom and I don’t take style too seriously. My hobby is writing and I like writing about life. In life I am always inspired to be better today than I was yesterday. To constantly grow and improve.

When you are not blogging, what do you do?

I’m a stay at home mom. It’s definitely not the easiest job in the world, but I am indeed fortunate and privileged to be blessed with the task.

What’s on your wish list for Summer / Christmas/ Special Occasion / or just for the next few months?

To survive the festive season without any weight gain! Lol

What do you splurge on?

I’m generally quite cheap, but I do splurge on my face products.

What are you reading right now?

Nothing! I love reading, but don’t read as frequently as I used to.

Who is your favourite local celeb?

I don’t think I have one. I used to be a major fan of tabloid magazines and celeb news, but I think I’ve outgrown that phase. Celebs are just people after all.

What is your favourite make-up brand?

I am not a huge make-up person and I don’t have an enviable collection, but I do have a growing collection of  Smashbox products.

Define your style

Simple and comfortable with a dash of boho.  Sometimes I like to glam up. But I wouldn’t call myself a fashionista.

What makes you happy?

I strongly believe that the fate of our happiness lies in our own hands. Our frame of mind and the way we approach life is what makes us happy or sad… So, technically nothing makes me happy. I am happy because I choose to be. With that being said, I am most happy when I am surrounded by my family.

How do you define success?

Humility. For me, the more humble, the greater the success.

Your philosophy is…

I think I have too many philosophies on too many topics lol. Try to live life as peacefully as possible. Approach everything with inner peace as your ultimate goal.

Any tips for anyone who wants to start a blog?

The South African blogging industry is not as big as America and the UK so don’t expect to be an overnight success. Be prepared to work hard and remember to stay true to yourself. Authenticity and sincerity is what will draw people to you and make you stand out.

Check out Namreen’s blog on http://namusnarratives.blogspot.com

